What would King Bronk say? I think we all know.
In case you missed it in Champions League earlier in the week, AC Milan was absolutely hosed by an injury time penalty call that allowed Atletico Madrid to steal a 2-1 victory at San Siro. Luis Suarez converted the 97th minute penalty and the rest is history.
But come on! How do you call that a handball? The ball flicked up off the ground and hit the defender’s hand. He never moved his hand towards the ball. This call was worse than Ivan Perišić’s in the 2018 World Cup Final. I just don’t understand – with VAR and the last kick of the match – how you can call this is a penalty. There was absolutely no malice in the defender’s actions.
Imagine if this same call was made against Croatia in a major tournament match. This website would burn to the ground.
Ante Rebić was livid before, during, and after the game. He was subbed out early in the 1st half (tactical) because AC Milan went down to 10-men, due to a second soft yellow card booking. This referee did everything in his power to make sure AC Milan lost on the night.